February 16, 1951


Mr. W. G. Weir (Porlage-Neepawa) presented the report of the special committee appointed to prepare and report lists of members to compose the standing committees of the house, as follows:


Messrs: Benidickson Fulford Boisvert Gour (Russell) Brooks Harris (Grey-Bruce) Campney Knowles Cardiff Leduc Carter Lefrangois Coldwell Leger Cote (Matapedia-Matane) MacKenzie Cote (St. Johns-Iberville-Parent Napierville) Pouliot Courtemanche Richard (Ottawa East) Dechene Riley Dickey Stewart (Yorkton) Diefenbaker Tustin Fair Viau-29. (Quorum-10) RAILWAYS. CANALS AND TELEGRAPH LINES Messrs: Adamson Lafontaine Applewhaite Lennard Beaudry Macdonald (Edmonton Bertrand East) Beyerstein MacNaught Bonnier Maybank Bourget McCulloch Breithaupt McGregor Cannon Mclvor Carter Mott Chevrier Murphy Clarke Murray (Cariboo) Conacher Mutch Darroch Noseworthy Dewar Pouliot Eudes Richard (St. Maurice- Ferguson Lafleche) Follwell Riley Fulton Robinson Garland Rooney Gauthier (Portneuf) Ross (Hamilton East) Gillis Shaw Gourd (Chapleau) Smith (Queens- Green Shelburne) Harkness Stuart (Charlotte) Harrison Thatcher Hatfield Thomas Healy Thomson Herridge Weaver Higgins Whiteside Hodgson James 80709-27 Whitman-60. (Quorum-20) Messrs: Argue Balcer Balcom Bater Bonnier Brooks Browne (St. John's West) Cameron Campney Casselman Cauchon Cleaver Cote (Verdun-LaSalle) Coumoyer Croll Decore Demers Eyre Ferguson Fournier (Maisonneuve-Rosemont) Gauthier (Lapointe) George Hansell Hosking Hunter Jeffery Kent Knight Langlois (Berthier-Maskinonge) Lennard Little MacDougall MacLean (Cape Breton North and Victoria) McLean (Huron-Perth) Murphy Noseworthy Parent Richard (Gloucester) Roberge Robertson Stanfield Stewart (Yorkton) Tustin Valois Warren White (Middlesex East) Whitman Winkler Wood Wylie-50. (Quorum-15)


Messrs: Adamson Argue Arsenault Ashbourne Balcom Beaudry Bennett Blackmore Bradette Breithaupt Brooks Cannon Carroll Cleaver Cote (St. Johns-Iberville-Napierville) Crestohl Dumas Fleming Fournier (Maisonneuve-Rosemont) Fraser Fulford Fulton Gingras Gour (Russell) Harkness Harris (Danforth) Hees Hellyer Helme Hunter Laing Leduc Low Macdonnell (Greenwood) Macnaughton Maltais Maybank McMillan Picard Richard (Gloucester) Richard (Ottawa East) Riley Sinclair Smith (Moose Mountain) Smith (York North) Stewart (Winnipeg North) Thatcher Ward Welbourn White (Hastings-Peterborough) -50. (Quorum-15) Anderson Ashbourne Balcer PUBLIC ACCOUNTS Messrs: Beaudry Benidickson Beyerstein

Standing Committees PUBLIC ACCOUNTS-Con. Messrs: Blue Boisvert Boivin Brisson Browne (St. John's West) Cauchon Cavers Cleaver Cloutier Croll Cruickshank Denis Diefenbaker Drew Fleming Fournier (Maisonneuve-Rosemont) Fraser Fulford Gauthier (Portneuf) Helme Homuth Johnston Kirk (Antigonish-Guysborough) Kirk (Digby-Yarmouth) Larson Macdonnell (Greenwood) Major Maltais Maybank Nowlan Picard Pinard Richard (Gloucester) Richard (Ottawa East) Riley Robinson Sinclair Stewart (Winnipeg North) Thatcher Warren Welbourn White (Hastings-Peterborough) Winkler Wright-50. Pinard Quelch Robinson (Simcoe East) Ross (Souris) (Quorum-8) Smith (York North) Stuart (Charlotte) Viau-20.


Messrs: Applewhaite Arsenault Ashbourne Balcom Bennett Black (Cumberland) Blair Breton Cannon Catherwood Cavers Cote (Matapedia-Matane) Coumoyer Fulford Gibson Gillis Harrison Henderson Higgins James Kirk (Antigonish-Guysborough) Langlois (Gaspe) Leger Macdonald (Edmonton East) Maclnnis MacNaught Maltais McLean (Huron-Perth) McLure Mott Pearkes Stick Stuart (Charlotte) Thomas White (Hastings-Peterborough) -35. (Quorum-15) (Quorum-10)


Messrs: Anderson Arsenault Aylesworth Bater Bennett Black (Chateauguay-Huntingdon-Laprairie) Blue Breton Browne (St. John's West) Bruneau Bryce Catherwood Charlton Clark Corry Cote (Matapedia-Matane) Courtemanche Cruickshank Darroch Decore Demers Diefenbaker Dumas Fair Fontaine Gauthier (Lapointe) George Gosselin Gour (Russell) Harkness Hatfield Herridge Hetland Jones Jutras Kent Kickham Kirk (Antigonish-Guysborough) Kirk (Digby-Yarmouth) Laing Leger MacKenzie Masse McCubbin McLean (Huron-Perth) Murray (Cariboo) Murray (Oxford) Nowlan Quelch Richard (St. Maurice-Lafleche) Roberge Ross (Souris) Studer Thomson Ward White (Middlesex East) Whitman Wood Wright Wylie-60. (Quorum-20) STANDING ORDERS Messrs: Boisvert Boucher Breton Casselman Denis Gibson Green Henry Homuth Huffman Knowles MacLean (Cape Breton North and Victoria) Monette


Messrs: Adamson Jones Benidickson LaCroix Black (Cumberland) Lafontaine Boivin Larson Brisson Little Byrne Mclvor Dickey McLure Dumas McWilliam Eyre Pearkes Ferrie Proudfoot Gauthier (Lapointe) Rowe Gauthier (Sudbury) Simmons Gourd (Chapleau) Stick Harkness Thomas Herridge Weaver Higgins Welbourn Hosking Wylie-35. Hunter (Quorum-10)


Messrs: (Edmonton Balcer Beaudoin Black (Cumberland) Boucher Bourget Breton Brown (Essex West) Byrne Carroll Cloutier Conacher Cote (Verdun-LaSalle) Croll Fairclough, Mrs. Gauthier (Lake St. John) Stewart (Yorkton)Gauthier (Sudbury) ThomsonGillis ViauHiggins Weaver-35. (Quorum-10) Homuth Johnston Kent Knowles Lennard Macdonald East) Maclnnis McWilliam Mott Murphy Nixon Pouliot Ross (Hamilton East)

Messrs: Boucher Knowles Casselman Murray (Oxford) Crestohl Pouliot Hees Simmons Henry Valois Johnston Viau-12. (Quorum-7) EXTERNAL AFFAIRS Messrs: Balcer Green Bater Higgins Benidickson Jutras Bradette Lesage Breithaupt Leger Coldwell Low Cote (Matapedia-Matane) Maelnnis Croll MacKenzie Decore Macnaughton Dickey McCusker Diefenbaker Murray (Cariboo) Fleming Mutch Fournier (Maisonneuve- Picard Rosemont) Pinard Fraser Quelch Gauthier (Lake St. John) Richard (Ottawa East) Gauthier (Portneuf) Robinson Goode Stick-36. Graydon (Quorum-10) PRINTING (Members to act on the part of the Commons) Messrs: Argue Healy Ashbourne Hees Bertrand Hetland Beyerstein Hodgson Black (Chateauguay- Hunter Huntingdon- Kickham Laprairie) Lefrancois Blackmore MacDougall Boivin MacLean (Cape Breton Bonnier North and Victoria) Breton Maltais Browne (St. John's ; West)McDonald (Parry Sound- Bryce Muskoka) Cameron Mclvor Cardiff McLean (Huron-Perth) Cauchon McWilliam Cavers Murray (Oxford) Charlton Robertson Cruickshank Shaw Darroch Sinnott Decore Smith (Queens- Fairclough, Mrs. Shelburne) Ferguson Stanfield Ferrie Stuart (Charlotte) Follwell Studer Fontaine Tustin Gingras Weaver Gosselin Whitman Gour (Russell) Wright-54. Harkness (Quorum-) LIBRARY (Members to act on the part of the Commons) Mr. Speaker and Messrs: Beyerstein Casselman Blackmore Conacher Brown (Essex West) Coyle Carroll Dechene Carter Demers 80709-27£ Standing Committees Eudes Gauthier (Lapointe) Gibson Gingues Goode Hellyer Henderson Higgins Homuth Hunter Jones Kirk (Digby-Yarmouth) Knight LaCroix Laing Leger MacNaught Mcllraith McMillan Nose worthy Pearkes Proudfoot Ratelle Rochefort Ross (Hamilton East) Rowe Sinnott Smith (Moose Mountain) Smith (York North) Tustin Valois White (Middlesex East) Whiteside Winkler-44. (Quorum-)


(Members to act on the part of the Commons) Mr. Speaker and Messrs: Breithaupt Casselman Cournoyer Dewar Ferguson Gauthier (Sudbury) Gour (Russell) Hansell Harkness Langlois (Berthier-Maskinonge) Leger Little Macdonald (Edmonton East) MacNaught McCulloch McGregor Ratelle Richard (Ottawa East) Rochefort Simmons Stewart (Winnipeg North) Stick White (Hastings-Peterborough) Ward-24. (Quorum-)


William Gilbert Weir (Chief Government Whip; Whip of the Liberal Party)

Liberal Progressive

Mr. Weir moved

that the report be concurred in.


Motion agreed to.

February 16, 1951